Prof.dr. I.W.C.E. (Isabel) Arends

T: +31 15 27 86659

Building 58 Applied Sciences
Room B58-C1.080
Van der Maasweg 9
2629 HZ Delft
The Netherlands



  • 2007-present 
    Full Professor Biocatalysis and Organic Chemistry, Department of Biotechnology, Faculty of Applied Sciences, Delft University of Technology. (Co-)author of over 150 publications, supervisor of over 40 PhD students and post-doctoral researchers. H-index 50 (Scopus, January 2017)
  • 2013-present
    Chair Department of Biotechnology and Faculty Board Member, Faculty of Applied Sciences, Delft University of Technology
  • 2016-present
    Founding Chair TU Delft Bioengineering Institute, Delft University of Technology
  • 2014-present
    Vice Chair NWO Applied and Engineering Sciences (previously Technology Foundation STW)
  • 2001-2006
    Assistant and Associate Professor, Department of Biotechnology, Delft University of Technology
  • 1995-2001
    Fellowship of the Royal Dutch Academy of Sciences (KNAW), Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
  • 1994
    Postdoctoral Researcher National Research Council Ottawa, Canada (Prof. K.U. Ingold)
  • 1988-1993
    PhD Student Leiden University, The Netherlands; 'Thermolysis of arene derivatives with coal-type hydrogen donors' (Prof. R. Louw, Dr. P. Mulder)
  • 1984-1988
    MSc Student Leiden University, The Netherlands; Physical Organic Chemistry

Research interests

  • Enzymes as catalysts for biotransformations
  • Selective oxidations, using biomimetic and enzymatic catalytic systems
  • Development of novel enzymes
  • Enzymes in a biobased economy

Teaching activities (selected)

  • Green Chemistry and Sustainable Technology; Advanced Biocatalysis (Master Life Science and Technology)
  • Director International Advanced Course on Biocatalysis and Protein Engineering, Biotech Delft (Postgraduate Education)
  • Course Leader and Teacher MOOC (Massive Open Online Course) on Industrial Biotechnology

Key publications

  • A. Hiseni, L.G. Otten and I.W.C.E. Arends (2016) Identification of catalytically important residues of the carotenoid 1,2-hydratases from Rubrivivax gelatinosus and Thiocapsa roseopersicina, Applied Microbiology and Biotechnology, 100, pp. 1275-1284.
  • M. Mifsud, S. Gargiulo, S. Iborra, I.W.C.E. Arends, F. Hollmann and A. Corma (2014), Photobiocatalytic chemistry of oxidoreductases using water as the electron donor, Nature Communications, 5:3145, pp 1-6.
  • F. Hollmann, I.W.C.E. Arends, K. Buehler, A. Schallmey and B. Bühler (2011) Enzyme-mediated oxidations for the chemist, Green Chemistry, 13, pp. 226-265.
  • A.J. Kotlewksa,  F.van Rantwijk, R.A. Sheldon, I.W.C.E. Arends (2011) Epoxidation and Baeyer-Villiger oxidation using hydrogen peroxide and a lipase dissolved in ionic liquids, Green Chemistry, 13, pp. 2154-2160.
  • I.W.C.E. Arends, (2006) Metal-catalyzed asymmetric epoxidations of terminal olefins using hydrogen peroxide as the oxidant, Angewandte Chemie - International Edition, 45 (38), pp. 6250-6252
  • G.J. ten Brink, I.W.C.E. Arends, R.A. Sheldon (2000) Green, catalytic oxidation of alcohols in water, Science, 287 (5458), pp. 1636-1639.

Committees (selected) and secondary employments

  • 2017-present
    Chair Selection Committee Leading Fellows: Leiden-Delft-Erasmus Marie Curie Cofund Program
  • 2016-present
    Chair Anniversary Committee TU Delft 175, Delft University of Technology
  • 2015-present
    Advisory Board Member Van ’t Hoff Institute for Molecular Sciences, University of Amsterdam
  • 2014-present
    Vice Chair NWO Applied and Engineering Sciences (previously Technology Foundation STW)
  • 2013-present
    Vice Director Post Graduate School Biosciences, BioTechDelft (previously BSDL)
  • 2013-present
    Vice Chair of COST Action CM1303 Systems Biocatalysis, European Cooperation in Science and Technology
  • 2013-present
    Board Member Biotech Campus Delft
  • 2012-present 
    Editor Green Processing and Synthesis (De Gruyter)
  • 2012-present
    Permanent Advisory Committee Member Antoni van Leeuwenhoek Professors, Delft University of Technology
  • 2011-present
    Board Member Delft Technology Fellowship, Delft University of Technology
  • 2007-present
    Board Member BE-Basic Foundation
Name author: Webmaster-BT-TNW
© 2017 TU Delft